Creative Title

A glimpse into the brain of a writer-momma-nerd.

A Very Merry Kendall Christmas Extravaganza

Posted by nattya61 on December 26, 2011

After a long absence from the blogging world, I decided to write a little post about our Christmas. It was probably the best Christmas I’ve had as an adult. We kept things relaxed this year and stayed at home, so everything seemed extra cozy. Even though we don’t celebrate Christmas like the average Missourians, we still have a lot of fun with our own meaningful traditions.

*Note: For those who don’t follow my blog or know me personally, we don’t do Santa or religion. We treat Santa and Jesus similarly – it’s a good story to know; he may have existed and may have been a good person (or terribly creepy, depending on your POV), but he didn’t bring presents to all the good little boys and girls (or pious ole boring people) using magic or spirits or other supernatural fictions. Even so, we love Christmas as to us it represents family, love, giving, eating, and celebrating the end of the year and all we’ve accomplished and all we have to look forward to in the following year.

I baked cookies and worked on our decorations pretty much the whole month of December. This year we all got new stockings. I found Batman and Superman stockings at Toys R Us for Nick and Bryan, but could not find a Wonder Woman (or Super Girl or basically any female superhero) stocking anywhere, so I made one myself.

Cut-out felt hot glued to a $1 red stocking. I think it turned out pretty well!

I always have most of the presents bought by the end of October, so as soon as we got the tree put up the weekend after Thanksgiving, I was able to wrap everything and get the tree all ready. Nick understood presents better this year than he ever had. He realized they had fun things in them and couldn’t wait to open the ones with his name on them.

I wanna touch them all!

We took Nick to get his picture taken with Santa, and of course we all had to get in the picture again because the old fat man scared the crap out of him. I don’t blame the kid, but it’s still fun to get that picture every year. We also took Nick to Bass Pro to look at all of their decorations and play in their Santa’s Wonderland. He enjoyed most of it, except for the merry-go-round. I think it freaked him out more than Santa.

Nick looking at the fish.

Freaking out on the merry-go-round-of-terror.

We were able to get one good picture of Nick in front of their Christmas tree. I miss the phase when Nick actually liked looking in the camera.

Bass Pro Christmas Tree

On the Tuesday before Christmas, my dad and step-mom came to visit. Nick had an amazing time playing with them, and we had a great visit!

Nick and Grandpa playing with Lincoln-Logs

On the Friday before Christmas, I did all my Christmas Eve Dinner preparations. Saturday morning I cooked, a lot. It was definitely worth it!

The Noms. And no, the ham wasn't black. It just looks that way in the picture.

I made ham, corn pudding, cheesy hashbrown casserole, cranberry sauce, green beans, pumpkin pie, and chocolate cream pie. Yum!!

We opened presents on Christmas morning. Nick really took in a haul this year. He loved everything, but his favorite toys are always the simplest ones. He loves his new blocks, magna-doodle, and the Curious George blanket I made him. I love that little guy!

Nick loves his Curious George blanket.

Nick and his DC Heroes Magna-Doodle and book

Nick loves any Melissa & Doug toy.

We got Nick a tricycle, but he's still unsure about it. He'll get it eventually.

Is this supposed to be fun?

On Christmas night we drove around and looked at Christmas lights. Nick oohed and ahhed, and then looked at us like, “um…this is a little weird.” Haha! I think sometimes the holidays get to be a little overwhelming for him, but overall he really enjoyed himself this year.

I hope everyone had a good holiday, no matter how or which one your celebrated!

Leave a Reply

 
