Creative Title

A glimpse into the brain of a writer-momma-nerd.

Back to It

Posted by nattya61 on April 14, 2010

Last week I was terribly sick. Food poisoning I’m pretty sure.  I lost 16 pounds between Wednesday afternoon and Friday evening. The irony is I think I got sick from a salad. A prepackaged Wal-Mart salad. Boiled eggs still sound nasty.

I was miserable.

On Saturday, I could keep food in my system, but I was very weak. Sunday, I was on my way back to normal, but I haven’t really felt “normal” (if there is such a thing) until today, and I’m finally able to think about food. I’m already looking forward to having a healthy and fun weekend!

The doctor told us to start giving Nick more table foods, including meat, so this weekend I am making teryaki steak with rice and sautéed sugar snap peas and mushrooms. I’m very excited. I used to make my own teryaki steak, but I haven’t made it in forever. I don’t know why, either. It’s easy and not too expensive. It’s still way cheaper than eating at a restaurant. Here’s the recipe I’m using for the teryaki marinade:

1 C. soy sauce
2 t. finely chopped garlic 
1/3 C. chopped onion
1 C. orange juice
3/4 C. dark brown sugar
3 T. vegetable oil
1/4 C. Worcestershire sauce
3 T. rice vinegar
1/4 t. ginger (or more to taste)

You marinate the flank steak overnight, and the next day grill it up and serve over white rice. I’m going to add some rice vinegar to the rice to make it taste more like sushi rice. I could make sushi rice, but honestly, it’s a pain, and regular white will work fine since I’m not actually making sushi.

The mushrooms and peas I’ll saute with some butter, garlic, onion, and a bit of the brown sugar and ginger.

Nicholas should be able to eat some of the steak and rice and a bit of the mushrooms and peas if I take them out of the shell.

I’m also going to make a dessert pizza. I’m going with the fruit one this time instead of Rocky Road. For that you use:

1 white cake mix
1 egg
1/2 C. butter (melted)
1/2 C. flour
1/4 C. powdered sugar
8 oz. softened cream cheese
8 oz. whipped cream
Any sliced fruit

Mix cake mix, egg, butter, and flour. Spread on a lightly greased cookie sheet. Bake at 350 degrees for 10-14 minutes. Allow to cool completely.

Mix powdered sugar, cream cheese, and whipped cream and spread over cookie layer. Top with fruit.

As you can tell, I missed food! I’ll let you know how everything turns out!

Leave a Reply

 
