Creative Title

A glimpse into the brain of a writer-momma-nerd.

Nick’s First Birthday!

Posted by nattya61 on April 6, 2010

We had a great First Birthday weekend with Nick! On Thursday we took him to JC Penney to get his one year pictures taken. We get to pick them up on April 14. I’m so excited to get them! I took this picture while they were getting set up for another shot.

"Professional" Photo

The only way we could get Nick to smile was if I was next to the photographer, pretending to take his picture with my camera. He wasn’t really upset that someone else wanted to take his picture, but he wasn’t very cooperative for the photographer either. Still, he did a good job and we got a lot of cute pictures!

On Thursday afternoon we packed, and I baked Nick’s birthday cake. Friday morning we left for Salem and got there around 1PM that afternoon. It didn’t take Nick as long this time to get used to his grandparents.

Nick with Grandpa and Grandma

They gave him the remote control to play with, so that made him like them again pretty quickly. While they played, Bryan and I decorated Nick’s birthday cake (Bryan did most of it…he even made the icing) and I decorated the party space. I was really happy with how everything turned out. I’m not sure if Nick really understood that everything was for him yet, though.

Curious George Cake

The table.

Close-Up

So cute!

Birthday decorating fun!

I was glad to get all of that done on Friday. That night Linda made BBQ chicken and potato salad for dinner. Nick learned to eat Cheerios. We were so proud of him!

Saturday morning we just relaxed and got ourselves ready for the party. Nick was a little overwhelmed when everyone got there, but it didn’t take him long to calm down. I’m hoping this means he’s getting over his social anxiety. He had fun opening his presents, but I think we wrapped too many for him because he got bored way before we were done.

Nick in his first birthday shirt!

He knows he's a big boy!

He likes presents.

What's this?

He likes it!

The last present Nick got woke him up again. Linda made him a rocking horse. It’s beautiful!

Rocking Horse

Nick loves it!

He wanted to eat the ball.

The we all gathered around the cake and sang “Happy Birthday” to Nick.

"Happy Birthday to you!"

Bryan and I helped him blow out the candles.

Nick didn’t quite know what to do when it was time to eat the cake.

What am I supposed to do with this?

There's too many people watching me!

Testing it out.

Digging In!

He didn't like his hands being dirty. That's my baby!

Once he was bored with the cake, he decided that throwing it on the floor, bit by bit, was the fun thing to do.

He's happy now half of the crumbs are in the floor.

He didn't want to wear the hat.

I'm done! Now, clean me!

I can’t believe my little baby is one already! The past year really did fly by. Nicholas has grown into such a little person with his own very distinct personality. He’s my quirky little man…little one-year-old man!

3 Responses to “Nick’s First Birthday!”

  1. Woohooo! That rocking horse is so awesome! And the cake! You guys did a great job. Nick looks so cute in his b-day shirt. Glad everything went so well!

  2. Kel/y_H said

    I miss you guys!

Leave a Reply

 
