Creative Title

A glimpse into the brain of a writer-momma-nerd.

Spring Is Here

Posted by nattya61 on March 22, 2010

But it sure didn’t feel like it this weekend. Saturday we ran errands all day because we knew Sunday we wouldn’t want to get out at all. We did our normal Saturday morning routine of going to the grocery store. Then, late Saturday afternoon we went to the mall. We bought Nick some summer clothes, me a pair of shoes, and Bryan a belt…that we found out was too small once we got home (A Levi’s size 38 belt is really a size 34…grr), and that shower gift I mentioned before. It feels like it’s been forever since I’ve bought myself a new pair of shoes. I was very excited.

Yesterday, we didn’t leave the apartment once. It was great! We went through all of Nick’s clothes and ended up with a bag full that he can’t wear anymore. We also found out that Nick has way too many pairs of pants. I don’t know what I was thinking, but he has tons of size 24 month and 2T pants. He probably only needs a couple more t-shirts and comfy pairs of shorts for this summer and he’ll be set. He also needs a pair of shoes. We took him to Stride Rite to get his feet measured. Nick is now a size 5.5.

Also on Sunday we decided to give up on the sippy cup for a while. Nicholas did fine with it for a couple days and then refused it. We figured he would give in…a baby can’t be more stubborn than his parents. Right? Wrong. He essentially went on a drinking strike. He wouldn’t drink water, milk, formula, even apple juice out of it. We hadn’t been giving him bottles either because we figured he’d get thirsty enough eventually. Nope. He held out. He won. The bottle it is.

Looks like a boy, not a baby anymore...who loves his bottle.

Nick did eat the potato soup I made very well, though. I used (didn’t measure, sorry folks):

potatoes
frozen broccoli
milk
some crumbled bacon
cheddar cheese
onion
butter
salt/pepper

I sautéed the onion in the butter while I steamed the broccoli and potatoes in the microwave. I added the broccoli and potatoes to the onions, added milk, salt and pepper and boiled about 15 minutes. Then I added the cheese and bacon until the cheese melted and everything combined. I put Nick’s in the blender a bit to make sure there weren’t big chunks of broccoli or bacon in his. He loved it. Bryan and I had cornbread with ours. I’m definitely going to have to make that again. There’s enough left over for Nick to have it for dinner again tonight.

For dessert, Nick got to try a popsicle. He loved it, but the cold kind of shocked him.

It's cold, mama!

Poor thing.

Overall, it was a good weekend. Now, it’s back to work.

One Response to “Spring Is Here”

  1. LOVE that popsicle face!

Leave a Reply

 
