Creative Title

A glimpse into the brain of a writer-momma-nerd.

Back to Our Regular Programming

Posted by nattya61 on March 1, 2010

And back to the present, let me tell you about our weekend. We finally hung up pictures in our apartment. We didn’t before because we figured why bother since we thought we’d be moving in May anyway. Now, since we are staying we decided to make the place look more homey and hung up pictures. I missed seeing our wedding pictures and Nick’s pictures on the wall. We put Nick in his pack-in-play while we did this. He was not happy.

Angry baby.

I’m not sure who he looks like there, but his mad face sure it cute. Especially since looking at the picture, you can’t hear the screaming. Nicholas likes to scream. A lot. He’s a loud little sucker.

We also went shopping for a couple baby showers and a birthday coming up. I never realized, but the stores do not have much gender neutral card or clothes to choose from. It was really frustrating trying to find something that could be for a boy or a girl. My cousin Mikki is having a girl this summer, so picking out her present was easy. They have the cutest little creepers for baby girls. I almost bought Nick one.

I’m only half kidding.

I showed Nick a Rainbow Bright doll (yes, they are coming back…wohoo!) and he acted like he wanted it. I was so excited. I probably won’t buy it for him, but I should. He’d probably try to pull her head off, but it’s Rainbow Bright! Feel my excitement, people!

Other than shopping and hanging pictures we didn’t do much else other than cook (egg noodles with tuna and mushroom sauce) and watch Firefly and District 9.

We’ve been trying to wean Nick off the bottle. He likes whole milk, so I think the transition from milk to formula will go pretty smoothly. It’s moving him from bottle to sippy cup that will be the problem. I know he’s ready because of what he’s now doing to his bottles. He’ll invert the nipple with his hands and then suck it out with his teeth…over and over…instead of actually drinking anything. However, when we give him the sippy cup, he’ll drink a bit and then just bang the cup on his highchair. He is a playful yet stubborn child, so I think the transition might take a while. I really don’t think the boy will starve, though.

Play Time!

Another thing I’ve been thinking about lately is Nick’s first haircut. As you can see, it’s getting pretty shaggy, and not in a good way. I wanted his hair to get really long before we cut it, but it’s starting to grow uneven and get into his eyes. It grows all funky like Bryan’s but down into his face like mine does.

Shaggy

I just don’t want them to cut it too short. I still want it long, just more even. When we do decide to take him, I’ll probably cry as much as Nick does. I’ve noticed Springfield has two kids hair cut places, Cookie Cutters and Pigtails & Crewcuts. Does anyone know which is better…or which is cheaper?

Enough thinking about that. I’m depressed now.

2 Responses to “Back to Our Regular Programming”

  1. I think we’re gonna go to Cookie cutters. I hadn’t heard of the other one. I saw something that said Cookie Cutters can be between $8 and $30. Pretty big range. We’re expecting it to be expensive but hoping it’s not. But they do the first haircut certificate and all that, so it should be fun. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
