Creative Title

A glimpse into the brain of a writer-momma-nerd.

16 Hours

Posted by nattya61 on February 17, 2010

Bryan has been working what seems like non-stop because of Valentine’s Day. Tonight will be his 6th day at work in a row. On Sunday, he worked 16 hours straight. His paycheck will be awesome! However, I was a little more than scared for Sunday to get here. I have never spent that long with Nicholas (or with any other baby or child) by myself before. Bryan isn’t called “Mr. Mom” for nothing.

I’m not really sure what I was scared of. It’s not that I don’t know how to take care of Nicholas, and it’s not that I don’t want to. But, it is still a daunting task for me to be alone with a baby for that long of a stretch. I mean, what were we supposed to do for 16 hours?

Well, we played, ate, napped, and played some more. I put him in his high chair while I took a shower. I watched him crawl around. I crawled around with him. We practiced standing and “cruising.” I read to him. It doesn’t sound like much, but it was a tiring day. Nicholas actually went to sleep at 7:30PM, so I was able to watch Family Guy Something Something Dark Side that we bought on Thursday and then get some sleep myself. I don’t know how stay-at-home moms do it. Bryan is definitely made for being a stay-at-home dad. If I made more money, I think he would jump at the chance to do that. I love Nicholas more than anything in the world, but I am just not cut out for that. I’m a stereotypical dad-type I guess. That’s just another reason why Bryan and I work so well. We are alike and different in the right ways to balance each other out.

Here are some photos of how I played with Nick’s hair after his bath the other evening. It’s getting so long on top. I love it!  Bryan and I both refuse to get Nick’s hair cut until it’s even longer. We still want to see if the ends will curl once they grow out more.

So cute!

Stylin'

Heartbreaker eyes!

Leave a Reply

 
