Creative Title

A glimpse into the brain of a writer-momma-nerd.

Another One Bites the Dust

Posted by nattya61 on December 30, 2009

The past few years have not been good to television. I think it’s a combination of the bad economy (good shows are expensive to produce) and that people are just getting more vapid (oh look, the Kardashians are on!). I don’t know how I missed this news, but last month Eastwick was cancelled. It was quickly becoming my favorite new show of the season. I thought Flash Forward would take that spot, but we ended up missing so many episodes. V is ok, but just ok. Eastwick was actually really good, so of course, it’s cancelled.

TV is changing, and I don’t like it. Real shows are going away in favor of reality. Now, I don’t dislike all reality shows. I love cooking shows. Anyone who knows me knows that I adore Top Chef. Heck, as much as I make fun of Tyra Banks I’ll still watch America’s Next Top Model as a guilty pleasure show. However, I realize it’s bad tv and take it for what it is.

What bothers me is that good shows, with good acting and good stories, tend to be cancelled because no one watches them. If no one watches a reality show, networks still give it a shot because it’s cheap to make. Remember Once and Again? Of course you don’t. No one watched it. It aired on ABC for three seasons and ended in 2002. It was well written and had amazing actors (with Evan Rachel Wood when she was just a wee girl, not yet tainted by Marilyn Manson…he’s talented but eww).

I still have is Lost, Glee (which is pretty predictable, but I do like the singing), Big Bang Theory, How I Met Your Mother, Fringe, Family Guy, and Cleveland. These are the shows I watch, but Lost is the only show I actually want to read message boards about the next day. Watercooler shows are becoming things of the past. It’s very sad.

Thank Jeebus for Netflix!

Leave a Reply

 
