Creative Title

A glimpse into the brain of a writer-momma-nerd.

Wonderful Weekend!

Posted by nattya61 on October 26, 2009

This was the first weekend in a long time where we didn’t really feel frazzled by either just too much stuff to do or apartment woes. We were busy the past two days, but relaxed. Saturday we went grocery shopping, cleaned a bit, and played with Nicholas. I played the Pace Hand Pick to Win sweeps and won a free jar of Pace salsa. With the coupon was a recipe for the Picante Chicken and Rice bake, so at the store we got the stuff to make it and then had that for dinner on Saturday. It was soo good. Here is the recipe, or well, the recipe how I made it:

Picante
 Chicken & Rice BakeChicken and Rice Bake
Prep: 10 minutes
Bake: 45 minutes
Serves: 4

Ingredients:
1 jar (16 ounces) Pace® Picante Sauce
1/4 cup water
1 large can corn
1 box Uncle Ben’s uncooked regular long-grain rice
1 pound chicken breast tenders
Paprika 
1 cup shredded taco blend cheese
Directions:
Stir the picante sauce, water, corn (with juice) and rice in a 2-quart shallow baking dish.  Top with the chicken.  Sprinkle the chicken with the paprika.  Cover the baking dish.

Bake at 375°F. for 40 minutes or until the chicken is cooked through and the rice is tender.  Sprinkle with the cheese and bake an additional 5 minutes.

We ate it with tortilla chips, so there was enough for me and Bryan for dinner both Saturday and Sunday. So good!

Saturday night we went to Party City to buy Nick’s birthday party stuff. We are going simple, just with whoever family and friends want to make the trip here. However, Bryan and I still picked a theme, Curious George, with Nick’s help of course. I got a $25 gift card in the mail and had a coupon for $5 off $25 at Party City, so we basically got all of the birthday stuff for free. Pretty awesome! We bought a candle, decorations, cute napkins and plates, a toy (for a birthday present), wrapping paper, and a piping bag and icing tips. All I’ll actually have to pay for now is the stuff to make the cake and icing, so less than $10 worth. And more presents of course, but I have no idea what those will be yet. Yes, it’s early, but I’m not going to let a good coupons and gift cards go to waste.

Yesterday morning Nick and I went to work with Bryan at Valentine’s and then we all ate lunch there. After that we went to Old Navy and Kohl’s. I usually love going to Old Navy, but the store was dirty this time. Well, the store not so much but the clothes were. It seems like every shirt I picked up had something nasty on it. Yeah, it was gross. I still found a cheap white long-sleeved t-shirt and Nick a pair of shoes for $3.

At Kohl’s we bought Nick some Christmas presents. I had a 15% off coupon, and all the Fisher Price toys were 50% off already. We bought him this sleeper, in size 18 months for only $7. It is so cute!

We’re going to let him unwrap this present on Christmas Eve so he can wear it that night. Cuteness! We also bought him two toys, a Sesame Street cell phone (since he loves our cell phones so much) and one of those hammer/peg toys from Fisher-Price. He loves pounding his toys against each other, so I think he’ll have a lot of fun with that toy. We’ve got him about 4 or 5 Christmas presents so far and I have in mine one other thing I want to get him. I would like to say that will be enough Christmas presents from us since I know he’ll get a lot from the rest of the family, but I know that I’ll inevitably buy him probably 4 or 5 more. I’m bad, and yes, he is spoiled. But, he’s the cutest baby ever, so he deserves it. Just look at that face!!

Baby Face
Adorable Baby Face

We took some new pictures of Nick over the weekend. I’ll try to get them uploaded soon. Hugs until then!

One Response to “Wonderful Weekend!”

  1. […] back in my blog a couple weeks ago I wrote about how we bought Nicholas some Curious George decorations and a stuffed little George? […]

Leave a Reply

 
