Creative Title

A glimpse into the brain of a writer-momma-nerd.

Savin’ Update

Posted by nattya61 on October 2, 2009

It’s been a while since I’ve gushed about my frugalness, but last night was a great one!

remoteNick loves to play with our remote control, and slobber all over it. So, we try to keep it away from him. I had a $10 gift certificate from Kohl’s and a 30% off coupon, so we went to see what we could find. We bought 2 pillows and this Fisher-Price remote. Total spent: $7.14!  The remote by itself retails for around $13, and the cheapest pillows I’ve seen are usually $10 or on sale 2 for $10. So, for 3 pillows and a toy I think $7.14 is something to brag about!

After our Kohl’s trip we went to Target. The best deals there were for cereal. I had Target and manufacture coupons, so I got 8 boxes of cereal (4 Special K and 4 kids type for Bryan) for $16. That’s only $2 a box for 8 big boxes of name brand cereal. All in all we saved over $30 with coupons and sales. (Coke was only $2.75 for a 12 pack, so if you buy a lot of soda, go to Target now!) Tonight we’re going to the grocery store to get the rest of what we need (we hadn’t been shopping in over a week, so there’s a lot we need), since Target doesn’t have certain things like fresh meats, deli stuff, or fresh vegetables. I’m thinking tonight, since we don’t have as much to get, I’ll probably save around $15 with my coupons.

Yes, I’m still proud of myself.

Here are some recent tips I’ve learned:
1. Coupons.com is way better than Smartsource.com
2. Sometimes the cashier will look at you like you are trying to steal a diamond when using a coupon. Just ignore it. They can kiss your ass if they don’t like it because it’s not hurting them (or the store) any.
3. Watch the cashier. If there’s a coupon they won’t take, then get it back. I had a cashier at Target keep two of mine once that wouldn’t go through without me realizing it. It was only like $2, but it still pissed me off.
4. Sometimes store brand is still cheaper even if you have a coupon for a name brand, sometimes it’s not. You have to do the math. (Take a calculator with you if you need to.)
5. Visit store and product sites. If you know you are going to want to buy Kraft Singles (and you have to have Kraft and not any other brand), go to Kraft’s website and look around, or go to the store’s website where you want to go and see if they have anything. It never hurts to look.

Until next time, signing off with a Nick Pic.
IMG_0508

Leave a Reply

 
