Creative Title

A glimpse into the brain of a writer-momma-nerd.

Raising My Nick: A Parenting Blog Part I

Posted by nattya61 on September 23, 2009

I’m pretty opinionated about a lot of things, but I am extremely opinionated when it comes to how I want to raise Nick. Today, the subject of spanking came up. For those of you who don’t know, I am very against it.

I just can’t fathom that in our society people still find it acceptable to use physical violence as a punishing/teaching tool. What is spanking? A spat or tap or hit or whatever on the behind or legs for the purpose of what? Teaching them a lesson so they won’t do something you don’t want them to do. Why would I ever want my son to hurt or essentially be embarrassed? No matter what he did I just wouldn’t do that to him. Do I think less of parents who spank their kids…no. Why? Because they are products of their culture. I can’t fault them for that as I too am a product of the culture in which I was raised, but it doesn’t mean I agree with the practice, and I hope with every fiber of my being to see the practice end.

Off my soapbox for now and back to work. Remind me and later I’ll write what I think about Nick and germs. You may be surprised.

Now, look at this face!  Awe!    IMG_0467

Leave a Reply

 
