Creative Title

A glimpse into the brain of a writer-momma-nerd.

What’s On My Mind Today: Inlaws and Religion

Posted by nattya61 on September 17, 2009

I really want the Parenting Beyond Belief books. Mainly because I want to read them as I want to raise Nick to be knowledgable about all religions and to be able to choose his own, if any, once he’s old enough to fully understand everything (i.e. I don’t want to indoctrinate him into any one religion when he’s a kid), but I also want to just have them laying on the coffee table when Bryan’s step mother comes to visit.  My family understands how I am and I understand them. I’m sure they’ll talk to Nick about religion, but I know they’ll also respect my beliefs and the way I want him raised. And even though I may have to tell him to just ignore certain comments that he’ll be sure to hear, I’m not really worried about it. 

Shirley on the other hand is another story altogether. As much as I love Bryan he won’t stand up to her much either. He’s like my dad…he never wants to create waves. We just know that she’s going to bug the crap out of us about taking Nick to church, and she’ll probably even take him to church if he ever goes to visit them in Texas, even if we’d ask her not to. This bothers me. I’m not so bothered by the fact of Nicholas going to church once or twice. I know already that he’ll be a smart enough kid to where that shouldn’t affect him too much. I’m bothered by the fact that she won’t respect us enough to follow our wishes when it comes to our child.

So you may be wondering how exactly do I want to raise Nicholas when it comes to religion. As I said, I want him to be educated about Christianity, Judaism, Hinduism, Buddhism, Paganism, Agnosticism…pretty much all the “anities” and “isims”. We live in the midwest where our culture is saturated with Christian beliefs, so he’ll need to understand why at the same time every year the fast food restaurants have fish specials and what his friends are talking about when they mention a deacon or elder or whatever. I want him to understand the importance of religion in our culture and how much it means to people, but I also want him to feel that if he doesn’t feel the need to subscribe to any of them that it’s a perfectly valid option. To me religion is both good and bad and I don’t want him to be scared of realizing that.

Ok…I had to get all that out. I can focus on work again now…until lunch anyway. Haha!  To sign off, here’s a Nick pic.

IMG_0464

Leave a Reply

 
