Creative Title

A glimpse into the brain of a writer-momma-nerd.

TGIF…fo realz!

Posted by nattya61 on August 21, 2009

Last night was interesting. I think Nick had his first night terror. Poor guy. I hope his aren’t like mine where I felt like I was awake but couldn’t move, open my eyes, or breathe…and then panic would set in. Yeah, I hated sleeping as a kid.

Today is Friday, though, so that’s good. I’ve gotten a lot of work done already this morning, so I thought I’d take a little break before lunch and blab on here for a bit. Tomorrow is grocery shopping day (not as fun as Weasel Stomping Day, but I still can’t complain), so I get to see if my coupon obsession pays off this week. We’re making our ghetto version of Chicken Delmonico tomorrow night, so I’m definitely looking forward to that. The original version is here: http://bit.ly/1OBhcZ. Here’s mine:

4  boneless, skinless chicken breast halves
2 tablespoons plus 1/2 teaspoon Essence or Creole Seasoning
1/4 cup minced onion (whatever type is on sale) 
1 can regular mushrooms with broth
1 can shitake mushrooms with broth
1 can artichoke hearts with a little of the broth
1/4 teaspoon ground pepper
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 tablespoon parsley leaves

No need to add extra salt as the canned artichokes can be kind of salty.

I throw it all in a baking pan and bake at 350 until the chicken is cooked through and onions are clear. We serve it over cheesy bacon grits. Oh yeah!

Bryan and I pretty much eat cereal and sandwiches all week, so this is exciting. Again, boring…I’m aware.  Hey, you’re the one reading this.

And it’s lunch time. Signing off with a Nick pic.
IMG_0416

Leave a Reply

 
