Creative Title

A glimpse into the brain of a writer-momma-nerd.

It’s Not You, It’s Me…No, It’s You: My Breakup with Wal-Mart

Posted by nattya61 on August 21, 2009

It’s been at least a month since Bryan and I have ventured into a Wal-Mart, and it’s been a good month. Bryan has always hated Wal-Mart. It makes him nervous. All the people, the crazy drivers in the parking lot, the smell. I toughed it out, though. Wal-Mart is what I grew up with. We didn’t have no fancy Target or even a K-Mart in the black hole that is Salem. We had a Dollar General, Country Mart, and Wal-Mart. If you needed toilet paper, Wal-Mart. Tampons, Wal-Mart. A pencil, Dad’s office…whoops, I mean, Wal-Mart.

However, it got to the point where I just couldn’t do it anymore. I mean, even forgetting about how Wal-Mart is evil (which I won’t go into here, just visits these sites if you want to read about it), we just would get irritated every time we went. It’s way too crowded, there’s way too many rednecks who will just push you over to get to that whatever they are trying to get, the lines are too long with too few lanes open, you have to park about ten miles from the store if you go on a weekend, they are out of stuff a lot, and after you get home you feel like you need to wash yourself with a brillo pad just to get the stank off. I hate it. My relationship with Wal-Mart had to end.

Now, you might say, “Hey, you’re trying to save money…isn’t Wal-Mart the best place to go?” Nope. It’s really not. With coupons and sales at other places, it may take a bit more work, but with us going to Price Cutter, Target, and Dollar Tree we actually save more money than we did going to Wal-Mart. And, we feel more relaxed and better about ourselves too.

Don’t even get me started on Sam’s Club.

My one wish…for Springfield to get a SuperTarget! The town is big enough and Target rocks my world. But, with the hold Wal-Mart has over this area, it’ll probably be a good 10 years before we’d get a SuperTarget here, maybe longer.

walmart-evil-2

2 Responses to “It’s Not You, It’s Me…No, It’s You: My Breakup with Wal-Mart”

  1. Tyler Bradt said

    I applaud you on ridding yourself of Wal-Mart! My family and I haven’t been in 10 years? (basically since the first time we stepped into one) Sorry to let you know though, basically all those big box stores are the same in terms of the ‘evil’ you mention. Wal-Mart just happened to be the biggest and the worst and took all the rap. What wrong with having separate stores for your groceries, clothes, toys, electronics, shoes, pharmaceuticals, office supplies…? For every small store, you have a local store owner who treats their employees well and gets money for their hard work. For every Big box, all your money goes into the pocket of very few, very rich folks. If you’re trying to save money, the very best way is to consume less stuff, plain and simple. Oh, and yard sales and ebay are pretty helpful too. Thanks for joining the fight against Wal-Mart.

    • nattya61 said

      From what I’ve witnessed just in this area, Target treats their customers vastly differently than Wal-Mart, but I do not know much first hand about how they treat their employees differently…only what I read on the net.

      I’m not a big yardsale person, but I am a big fan of second hand stores, especially when it comes to children’s items. I just can’t get up and about early enough to take full advantage of a yard sale. And yes, E-Bay and CraigsList are my friends.

      Thanks for the reply!

Leave a Reply

 
