Creative Title

A glimpse into the brain of a writer-momma-nerd.

4th of July in Hee-Haw Town

Posted by nattya61 on July 8, 2009

Bryan and I took Nicholas to Salem for the 4th. Nicholas absolutely loves his grandpa, Linda, his aunts and uncles, and cousin Lisa, so he had a grand ole time!

Nick and Gloria

We didn’t do regular 4th of July stuff except for eating a lot of BBQ. When money is tight, the more free food you can get the better!  It was awesome!  I forget how much I miss grandma’s cooking until I eat at Aunt Gloria’s.  For breakfast she made us banana bread, sausage, eggs, toast, and had pineapple-orange juice. For lunch we had BBQ pork chops, BBQ beans, potato salad, ambrosia salad, and cake.  Dad wonders why we like to stay at her house. Um, hello!

Nick and Vertis

As much as I miss my family, I definitely do not miss living in Salem. Seriously, I think that place gets more redneck each and every day…or maybe when I was a kid I just didn’t notice it. On Friday night we went to a BBQ with Dad. Again, yay for the free food, but you know you are in true hillbilly country when guests arrive in full wife beater and mullet/femullet gear, on a four wheeler, with a beer in one hand and a cigarette in the other.  It looked like it was going to rain so the lady of the house said “you can take your baby inside”…inside her smoke filled trailor.  No thanks.  Yes, I used to smoke…pretty heavy for two years and Bryan smoked for like 15 years, but when we decided we wanted to try for a baby we quit and haven’t picked up one since. Nicholas is only 3 months old and we’re not too keen about him being surrounded by a cloud of cigarette smoke.  When he’s 18, if he wants to smoke, that’s his business, but until then, it’s my business. I was irritated. We basically ate and left and we very happy to get into Gloria and Vertis’s clean house and take a bath.

Clean Baby

The next day we almost got stuck in Salem because we forgot about the parade. We had to run by Dad’s house because we forgot one of Nick’s little travel jars of formula there, and we just happened to get there 15 minutes before the start of the parade. Dad lives right smack in the center of town…and thus right where the town was all lined up to see some kids, some old men, old cars, and pooping horses march through the center of town.  Yes, it’s exciting, I know.  You’re sorry you missed it. We grabbed his formula and got the hell out of there as fast as we could. After the night before, we had had enough.

It’s not that Springfield is so big, it’s just that Salem is so small…and boring…and away from everything…and 90% of the people there like it that way.  I never fit in there.  I always hated it. I’m still mad at myself half the time that I still live in the Midwest for goodness sakes. Maybe someday I’ll really make it out and once Nick is out of college, Bryan and I can retire in Hawaii or Italy or someplace like that.

Until then, I’ll just enjoy the little world we’ve made for ourselves here. At least I’ve got this little one to keep me entertained.

IMG_0366

Leave a Reply

 
